Search

How the Great Sustainable Race Works

Updated: Nov 6

How to Register

Complete the 5K registration form for the Great Sustainable Race (Update: registration is now closed.) It's completely free! For every participant who registers, Flats or Spikes will donate a tree with our partner, One Tree Planted.


Things to know:

  • If you want to register on behalf of a friend or family member, simply complete the 5K registration form for each participant.

  • Each participant must be at least 13 years of age and have a mobile phone.

  • The deadline to register is 1 hour before the start of the race.

  • Before the race you will be invited to the Flats or Spikes app so you can see the countdown, capture your finish time, and explore the leaderboard.


On the Day of the 5K


Start Time

The 5K race starts in the Flats or Spikes app at the same time on November 6th, 2021:

  • 8 AM Pacific

  • 9 AM Mountain

  • 10 AM Central

  • 11 AM Eastern

What to Expect

Watch the tutorial or continue reading to learn how to access the app, enter your time, and explore the leaderboard:


Enter Your Time

  1. Open the Flats or Spikes app shortly before the start of the 5K race.

  2. Go to the Data tab and tap Capture Your Time to see the countdown.

  3. When the countdown ends — start! (You do not need to keep the Flats or Spikes app open during the race.)

  4. When you have covered the 5K distance, tap Capture Finish Time and your time will be added to the leaderboard. There is an honor system for this event. You are responsible for covering the distance by pre-planning a route or using a separate activity tracking app.


After the 5K

Explore the leaderboard to see how your time compares to others around the United States. Share your experience with the world on Instagram, Twitter, and more!



More Details

  • The Flats or Spikes app is only available in the US App Store and Play Store and supports the English Language.

  • You must be at least 13 years of age and own a mobile phone.



Questions

If you need any help, we're just an email away at support@flatsorspikes.com.

84 views0 comments